Come to our events.

We host a reading series in San Francisco called Write from the Gut! It features works-in-progress from writers who have taken the workshop and a guest author or two.

 

Past Events:

 

CENTRAL MARKET NOW & SF Creative Writing Institute Present:

Write From the Gut! #10

Write from the Gut Reading Series
Write From the Gut! #10
/////This is our tenth show!//////

****Sunday, December 6, 2015****
5:30-8:00pm
SAFEhouse Arts
1 Grove Street
San Francisco, CA

End-of-term reading w/ Special Guest: Chiwan Choi

Brought to you in conjunction with Central Market Now

Readers to include students of the

Fall 2015 SF Creative Writing Institute Classes:

******Jack Grapes’ METHOD WRITING Program taught by Alexandra Kostoulas*******

*******Sunday Poetry Workshop taught by Hollie Hardy*******

********Fabulist Fiction taught by Nick Mamatas*******

<<<<<<>>>>>><<<<<<>>>>>>><<<<<>>>>>>><<<<<<<>>>>>

CHIWAN CHOI is an editor and author of the poetry collections, Abductions and The Flood. In his early years as a writer, he was a student of Jack Grapes. He went on to get an MFA in Dramatic Writing from Tisch School of the Arts at NYU. He has written screenplays, a novel, and poetry. He is a literary firebrand and luminary most recently known for his role as and publisher of Writ Large Press in Los Angeles.

Here’s a little bit more about Central Market Now:

\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\Central Market NOW celebrates another year of supporting neighborhood art in partnership with the SF Mayor’s Office of Economic and Workforce Development, the California Arts Council and the Kenneth Rainin Foundation.\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\

/////////////////////////Central Market NOW is inspired by the success of 24 days of Central Market Arts, a public art festival that happened in 2010-2012 centralmarketarts.org. The project is currently being managed through SAFEhouse Arts, (Saving Art From Extinction), a non-profit arts presenting organization, specializing in incubating new performing art through residencies, workshops, and performances./////////////////////////////////

SAFEhouse ARTS is a also the fiscal sponsor of the SF Creative Writing Institute. For more info on SF Creative Writing Institute visit: http://sfwriting.institute/


 

Write From the Gut! #9

Friday, September 18, 2015

5:30-7:30PM

WeWork Golden Gate

7th Floor Lounge

Come join us for a fall term kick-off reading of poetry and prose Featuring the works of our talented writer/ teachers:

//////Nick Mamatas///////// of Writing the Literary Page-Turner
/////Alexandra Kostoulas//// of Jack Grapes’ METHOD WRITING
//////////Hollie Hardy//////// of Sunday Poetry Workshop

///////Also featuring works of students and alumni//////// from the #########SF Creative Writing Institute#########

The event is free. We’ll have a keg of beer for you to enjoy and some wine. Feel free to bring snacks.

Also going on right outside the event will be the 5th Annual 6th Street Art Walk with live music, food trucks, and art exhibits. Come after work and enjoy.

Classes start up this Fall. Know anyone interested in taking a creative writing class? Tell them about us: http://sfwriting.institute/

 


 

2015-02-22_1424628160

    Write from the Gut! Reading Series #8

    Saturday, April 4

    6:00-8:30pm

    SAFEhouse Arts

1 Grove Street

San Francisco, CA

Get Tickets

 

Come join us for an end-of-class reading at the location of our newest co-conspirator, SAFEhouse for the Performing Arts. Writers are students and alumni of the Jack Grapes Method Writing Program in SF taught by Alexandra Kostoulas.  Each reading we strive to involve featured readers from the writing community at large and musicians that inspire us.

WE HAVE SPECIAL GUESTS…

For the first time, I’ve invited several writers I admire from the East Bay to read alongside the Method Writers.  They are all active in the local reading scene and I want you to meet them. They are each powerhouses in their own way, each with a fierce presence all her own. Here they are in the order in which they responded to my invitation:

 

Cassandra Dallet + MK Chavez + Alexandra Naughton + Hollie Hardy

Here’s a little bit about each of them:

 

Cassandra Dallett lives in Oakland CA . She writes poetry and memoir of a counter culture childhood in Vermont and her ongoing adolescence in the San Francisco Bay Area. Cassandra has published in a full length book of poetry called WET RECKLESS recently released by Manic D Press.

MK Chavez is the author of  Virgin Eyes (Zeitgeist Press)  Visitation,  Next Exit #9 (with John Sweet) and  Pinnacle(Kendra Steiner Editions.)  She also co-curates the reading series  Lyrics & Dirges at Pegasus Books at 2349 Shattuck Ave., Berkeley.

Alexandra Naughton  is a writer based in Oakland, California. She wrote I Will Always Be Your Whore [love songs for Billy Corgan], which was published by Punk Hostage Press in January, 2014. She hosts a reading series in the Bay Area and also publishes a literary magazine, both called Be About It. She’s also the co-founder of empathlit.

Hollie Hardy can teach you how to survive anything. Her first collection of poetry, How to Take a Bullet, And Other Survival Poems is available now from Punk Hostage Press (2014). She teaches English at Berkeley City College and at SF State University where she received her MFA in Poetry. She co-hosts Saturday Night Special reading series in Oakland and is a core producer for the Beast Crawl Literary Festival in Oakland, co-curator of Litquake’s Flight of Poets.

 

Featured Musician: Lake Lady10431490_625468944250604_1443098357524120571_n   Charise Sowells a.k.a. Lake Lady began writing songs with a Tascam 4-track and her voice. A singer with a penchant for interesting harmonies, her tone harkens back to an era before her time. Playing shows with her acoustic guitar and singing a capella led to a multitude of collaborations with singer/songwriters, bands, electronic DJs, pop producers and rappers in LA, NY and abroad. Following a national tour as a lead singer in a band, she started her own duo called Lake Lady and the Mountain Man. Since the birth of Lake Lady in 2014, in addition to playing live, she has heard the first single, “Will Your Feelings Change?” from her forthcoming EP in collaboration with Midnite Tiger on multiple radio stations. In the vein of Massive Attack and Portishead, this soulful pop song features sensual vocals, chilled out rhythms and haunting melodic structure.

Featured Author:  Nick Mamatas.

Nick-Mamatas-e1267928337642

Nick Mamatas is the author of seven novels, over one hundred short stories, and dozens of essays and articles. His books include the novels Love is the Law and The Last Weekend, the short fiction collection The Nickronomicon, and the how-to guide for writing short fiction and non-fiction, Starve Better. Nick’s short fiction has appeared in Best American Mystery StoriesAsimov’s Science FictionNew Haven Review, and many other anthologies and journals. He has written about writing for The Writer, Fine Books & Collections, and Wonderbook. His anthologies include the award-winning Haunted Legends (co-edited with Ellen Datlow) and The Future Is Japanese (co-edited with Masumi Washington.)


 

 

Past Events

Write from the Write from the Gut!!!!Gut! Reading Series #7: METHOD WRITING *all stars* 

Friday, January 30, 2015.

5:30-7:30pm

Wework Building

25 Taylor Street

San Francisco, CA 94102

Featuring some hot up and coming writers to come out the Jack Grapes METHOD WRITING Program, along with an open mic night afterward. Come and join us for a night of good storytelling, snacks and a keg of beer. Free.

 

Featured readers: Liz Melchor + Flavia Stefani Resende + Yvonne Campbell

with special guest,  Maw Shein Win

mawMaw Shein Win’s poetry and prose has appeared in many journals, and she has work forthcoming in the anthology Cross-Strokes (Otis Books/Seismicity Editions). She is currently a poetry editor for Rivet and was an Artist In Residence at the Headlands Center for the Arts. Her most recent poetry chapbook is Ruins of a glittering palace (SPA/Commonwealth Projects), and she is a member of the Portuguese Artist Colony. Maw has taught college-level writing for many years and is a recipient of the Arkadii Dragomoshchenko Prize for Innovative Poetry. She was also a student of Jack Grapes’ Method Writing Program when she lived in Los Angeles.  

 

 


 

 

Previous Events:

Write from the Gut! Reading Series #6

Sunday, November 23, 2014.

4:30-7pm

Featuring the students of the Jack Grapes METHOD WRITING Program

end-of-class reading and podcast (coming soon)

The Emerald Tablet Art Gallery in North Beach.

80 Fresno Street

San Francisco, CA 94113

 

Comments

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s